MDC News Special Report

Legislature logo


Tallahassee capitol
Florida Map

What is the Capital of Florida?
Tallahassee, FL

Who is the Governor of the State of Florida?

Rick Scott

Governor Scott, a Republican, was first elected in 2010 and reelected in 2014. He will be termed out of office in 2018.

How many members are there in the State Senate?

40 members

State Senators can serve a maximum of two four-year terms. In 2016, changes were made to district lines which opened every seat up for election in November.

How many members in the State House of Representatives?

120 members

Elections are every two years with a term limit of eight years in office.

Who is my State Senator & State Representative?

The officials that represent you in the Florida Legislature are elected by the citizen residents of the districts they serve.


Use either your mailing address or zip code on the Florida Senate website to see your state senators as well as maps for your area.

Use your street address and city to find your state representative on the Florida House of Representatives website.

How is the state government organized?

Similar to the Federal level, there are three branches:

  1. The Executive branch:
    Governor, Rick Scott, Chief Executive with power to approve or veto bills.
  2. The Legislative branch:
    The State House and State Senate, who make the laws for the state.
  3. The Judicial branch:
    The State Supreme Court, charged with ensuring that the laws passed and approved by the other two branches are constitutional.

How does the legislature affect my life in college?

The legislature decides on many issues such as:

  • Determines funding the college receives for day to day operations
  • Determines funding for maintaining and building new classrooms, labs, and libraries
  • Determines student eligibility for grants, scholarships and much more