MDC News Special Report

Legislature logo


The Miami-Dade County Legislative Delegation was created so that legislators who represent the largest, most populated county in Florida could serve as a united force organized around common purpose. As a delegation, they are able to leverage their influence, forming an important voting block that significantly impacts public policy.


Delegation members are asked to advocate for county-wide constituent interests as well as working on matters of concern in their own districts. The delegation director coordinates with members and their staffs both in Tallahassee and in the Greater Miami area.

The Delegation organizes public hearings each year in various locations around the county so that interested parties have the opportunity to approach them for assistance with projects and initiatives. A list of legislative priorities is formulated from the information gathered at those meetings along with priorities submitted by the county. The Delegation votes during the first week of the legislative session to approve a list of critical or priority issues.

Representative Jose Felix Diaz currently serves as the Chair of the Delegation and Representative Jose Javier Rodriguez serves as the Vice-Chair. Each Chair and Vice Chair serves a one-year term.


Sen. Gwen Margolis
35th District

Sen. Oscar Braynon, II
36th District

Sen. Anitere Flores
37th District

Sen. Rene Garcia
8th District

Sen. Dwight Bullard
39th District

Sen. Miguel Diaz de la Portilla
40th District


Rep. Joseph Geller
100th District

Rep. Sharon Pritchett
102nd District

Rep. Manny Diaz, Jr.
103rd District

Rep. Carlos Trujillo
105th District

Rep. Barbara Watson
107th District

Rep. Daphne Campbell
108th District

Rep. Cynthia Stafford
109th District

Rep. Jose Oliva
110th District

Rep. Bryan Avila
111th District

Rep. Jose Javier Rodriguez
112th District

Rep. David Richardson
113rd District

Rep. Erik Fresen
114th District

Rep. Michael Bileca
115th District

Rep. Jose Felix Diaz
116th District

Rep. Kionne McGhee
117th District

Rep. Frank Artiles
118th District

Rep. Jeanette Nunez
119th District

Rep. Holly Merrill Raschein
120th District